My ICT Journey

When I was in high school computers were just being introduced into the school for my senior years. It was very basic learning of how to turn on and navigate and type a few lines. I don’t recall much from these days. However, this small bit of learning seemed to assist in my grasp of ICT in my future. My brother and sister who were older than me never had computers at school and both are quite ICT challenged. My sister has been a teacher for the past 30 years and when she sees what we do now at uni regarding ICT she says thinks what we have to do is a lot harder these days. Harder is of course her perception, as she grew up in a very different world than the digital world of today. Perhaps she has not challenged herself too far into the world of ICT, albeit for what she needs to within her teaching, perhaps there is a slight fear of ICT. This leads to the discussion of teachers needing to keep abreast of ICT to be able to effectively teach the children in their classrooms. I am a big believer that teachers need to get on board to integrate more ICT into learning, to stimulate and challenge today’s very technology savvy students. If they are biding time until retirement, or not willing to wholeheartedly give ICT a go, then perhaps they need to find another profession, or move out of the classroom, as this choice should not be at the detriment of their students’ learning.

Although I did not grow up surrounded by technology like children today, I set out to learn more and taught myself through exploration and trial and error. I ended up working in an office using a computer daily so that helped and then my understanding was further expanded as I set out to make a movie of my son from baby to age 2. So hours were spent experimenting, editing, adding music and text. I loved the end result so much I made another movie of him a year later. I then decided to research my family tree and using what was then a very new software named ‘Momento’, created a lovely family tree keepsake book which took many hours of fiddling to get just what I wanted. I also attended a school reunion and we all had to join the latest ‘thing’ Facebook, to keep in touch and exchange photo’s. I was now the ‘go to person’ my Mum always called for help on her computer. I have never really been taught but rather, had taught myself. My siblings are not on Facebook and would have no idea how to go about creating a movie. This perhaps I put down to the difference a 4-6 years age gap can make regarding just that little bit more exposure I had received to ICT, at an earlier age combined with my desire to learn more. Unlike my Mum who has a slight fear of computers (but is commended for giving it a go) I always tell her “Mum if you hit a wrong button your computer won’t blow up….Making mistakes is how you learn”. I had to laugh about the YouTube clip of the monk on study desk. I must send this to my Mum.
As I embarked on my teaching journey, I was grateful for all those hours spent on my computer challenging myself and exploring, for it has surely helped with this degree.
So here I am still learning and now have my first ever blog. My ICT learning journey continues.

3 thoughts on “My ICT Journey

  1. I think ICT is very useful in the classroom. It helps keep students engaged as this is what they are used to in the home environment. We will all be ICT savvy teachers to help give students the best opportunity for learning.

  2. Interesting that you should mention that you basically taught yourself about ICT. I just finished reading a blog article by Jonah Salsich (Toolbelt theory: don’t wait for PD) that talks about how the responsibility for learning about new technology falls on the teacher and is not the responsibility of the school. Although in the past I would have disagreed, I really believe it now. I’ve been resisting ICT for too long and it’s time for me to take responsibility of my own learning, and, as you did, start exploring all these amazing technologies on my own. Good on you – you’ve added to my motivation and inspiration to do this!!!

    • Hi Anouk
      Thanks for your response to my post. I too read the Toolbelt theory and also agree that teachers need to take responsibility for their own ICT learning development, rather than wait for PD. Not unlike what as we as educators will do, by encouraging students to take responsibility for their own learning. I am glad my ICT journey can provide some motivation and inspiration for you.

Leave a Reply

