Pimp my Pedagogy

Just when I thought I was beginning to get a good handle on how to embed and teach using ICTs in the classroom, along came ‘Pimp my Pedagogy’ in week 8. Once again the learning journal has opened my mind further to the ‘real’ potential of ICTs if teachers are using it to its full reach. I am beginning to think there are probably many teachers out there who think they are effectively embedding ICTs and I was perhaps one of them when I think back to some of my earlier pracs. But I guess I am still thankfully on a learning curve and expect to be so throughout my future teaching career.

An example of what I am talking about is how many teachers are considering the use of  ‘Authentic Audience’ to spur on their students desire to improve and aim higher. I for one am guilty of not effectively considering this, for example as I added – students will be blogging about the learning in the class blog – I had not considered for what audience they would be blogging. Fellow EDC3100 blogger Karen recognises the importance of choosing wisely when it comes to ICTs in the classroom, to ensure they enrich learning.

Love this cartoon below which highlights the need for teachers to provide authentic, enriching experiences when it comes to using ICTs in the classroom.

 

One thought on “Pimp my Pedagogy

  1. Pingback: Pedagogy… I could think of other words to use right now! | Lisa Rose's Blog

Leave a Reply

