My Engagement with PYP

Growth of IB Student in School

Image found on akshararbol.com

Where did that three weeks go! Although initially I had reservations about going to an IB school following the PYP (primary years program) for my prac, I found it a great experience! IB (International Baccalaureate) schools follow an inquiry based approach that focuses on development of the whole child as an inquirer, both within and outside of the classroom. The behaviour management and reward system was very effective and the boys receive signatures in their books when they are displaying attributes listed on the above tree. I was impressed by how well the school prepares students for their future lives, by way of interviewing for house and vice captain roles and preparation leading to their exhibitions. All in all an insightful prac with a great class and mentor. A whole new and invaluable experience for me teaching two classes (42 boys) a lot of the time, and one that I will take with me on my future teaching journey.

 

Leave a Reply

